provreviewsandrecipes

Food Blog with delicious recipes and also reviews of Providence, RI restuarants

Julian’s Restaurant Review April 6, 2013

juliansSo recently my friend Erin and I finally ventured to Julians for brunch. I have been wanting to check this place out for quite some time now, but every time we tried to go the wait was extremely long. I know, I know the sign of a really good restaurant, however I am not a patient person and if I can avoid having to wait I will.

On the recent visit though, we got there a about 10 minutes before they opened on a Saturday morning at 9am. There was a line waiting at the door but we only had to wait about 15 minutes in total and then we were seated at one of the two tops in the back. Which was great for people watching as well as enjoying our food. Our server promptly came over and brought us glasses of water and asked if we had a chance to look at the specials menu on the blackboard. We hadn’t yet, but I’ll get to that in a minute. We ordered a pitcher of mimosas since that was the only option the menu had for pitchers.

Now the specials menu is written on a two blackboards on a wall right next to the bar. They had some very interesting specials on it and it ranged from appetizers, breakfast items and lunch ones. Since it was our first time there we decided to make our choices off of their regular menu. While perusing the menu the pitcher of mimosas arrived. It was the perfect balance of orange juice and champagne, not too acidic and just the right amount of sweetness.

I decided on the ‘Yo Yo Yo Ma’ omelet. Yes, I know the name made me chuckle when I saw it. Now this item was described as pan omelet containing curry braised ham, roasted beets, miso daikon, chives and plum ginger glaze. The item sold me on the roasted beets and the plum ginger glaze as I had never thought or imagined those things combined in an omelet. The omelet came with home fries and a choice of toast. I chose wheat toast. My friend Erin chose ‘Da Buccanneer’ omelet. This omelet was described on the menu as containing smoked salmon, boursin, red onions and capers. That omelet sounded interesting to me as well as smoked salmon and boursin cheese sounded like a great combination.

Even though the restaurant was now full and people were standing waiting for tables to open up, our food came over promptly. Now let me just say that the omelet that came over was medium-sized and the smell from the plum ginger glaze that was on the top of the omelet was strong, but smelled delicious. I cut my omelet into bite sized pieces and dove right in. The first taste that hit your mouth was the taste ginger plum glaze since that was on top of the omelet, it was sweet but not too sweet. Next was the taste of the fluffy eggs, then the slight spice of the curried ham pieces. Finally the slight sweetness of the roasted beets came in to round out the dish. The combination of all of this together was delicious. It seemed to take very different ingredients from the description but they all came together perfectly. I would definitely get this omelet again and would recommend it to anyone else. The home fries were good, but nothing outstanding. I think they were overshadowed by how amazing the omelet was.

Now I did try a bite of my friend Erin’s omelet as well. It was delicious as well. I was right in my thinking that the smoked salmon and the boursin cheese were a great combination. I had been slight apprehensive before thinking that the addition of capers and smoked salmon to an omelet would make it overtly salty, but I was pleasantly surprised that it didn’t. All the flavors came together in this omelet as well to make it a rich and satisfying dish.

Would I go back to Julian’s? Yes, yes I would. I would also recommend it anyone else wanting to go to a great place for brunch. I am looking forward to not only going back for brunch again but also going one night for dinner as well. Julian’s is one of the few restaurants in Providence, RI that not only has specials each but they make it a point to offer multiple vegan choices as well. So if you are a vegan or looking to go out to eat with a vegan and not sure where to go, I would recommend Julians.

Have you been to Julians? If so, what was your experience like? Do you have a favorite item off of their menu like I now do?

Here’s the restaurant info. Julians is located at 318 Broadway, Providence, RI. There is plenty of street parking. Julian’s does brunch Monday through Friday from 9am-4:30pm and dinner every night from 5pm-11pm. Brunch is served on Saturday, Sunday and holidays from 9am-2pm. The bar is open until 1am. I would recommend that if you are going to brunch on a weekend or holiday to make sure you get there right at 9am as it gets crowded fast or expect to wait. There is also additional outside seating in front of the restaurant when the weather gets warmer.

Here’s their website address, juliansprovidence.com. Go on over and check them out and plan your visit to this great restaurant soon.

 
Julian's on Urbanspoon

 

One Response to “Julian’s Restaurant Review”

  1. hosting Says:

    Fantastic written content material and great layout. Your weblog deserves all of the good feedback it’s been getting.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers